My Weekly Word Fix

Introducing all kinds of words, their uses and meanings, every Monday.

106. REDD

on January 26, 2015

When I lived in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, I became accustomed to a dialect I hadn’t experienced, before or since. I grew up in eastern Pennsylvania, went to college in central Pennsylvania, but Pittsburgh was different. And I lived in Butler, which was north of Pittsburgh and more rural. I had good friends there, they were down to earth people, who said they would leave Butler in a pine box. They were simple and proud of their town, and they weren’t going anywhere. They also referred to straightening up their house, or a room, or the kitchen, in that they needed to redd up the house, the room, or the kitchen. I’d never heard that expression and saw it in my mind as “rett” because that’s how they pronounced it. I left Butler twenty years ago and haven’t heard that expression since I left. So, lo and behold, I come across it while reading Jane Eyre!

“There, sir, you are redd up and made decent. Now I’ll leave you: I have been travelling these last three days, and I believe I am tired. Good-night.”

Jane says this to Mr. Rochester towards the very end of the book. The reader is directed to the back of the book to a note defining “redd” as “tidied (dialectal).” In the dictionary, redd is defined as to put in order, make (a place) tidy: usually [used] with up, a colloquialism that comes from North England and Scotland, and somehow made its way to Pittsburgh. I’m sure with enough research it could be explained.

Suffice it to say, I didn’t expect to come across the word not only used in Jane Eyre, but spoken by Jane herself. Kind of cool. As rural as Pittsburgh was, it had its classy aspects. Roots in Jane Eyre no less.


One response to “106. REDD

  1. Mel says:

    I just came across this in the book too and was quite surprised at seeing something that was considered an “only Pittsburgh” slang word in Jane Eyre! I ran to Google and found your post at the top. Pretty awesome stuff 🙂

Leave a comment